PD Book Club

Join us for ARSL’s PD (Professional Development) Book Club! Once a quarter we invite both members and nonmembers to come together to discuss a PD book of particular interest to the needs of library professionals working in small, rural libraries.

Book club discussion groups are hosted free of charge for all attendees. In order to accommodate those of us in different time zones two different discussion groups will be held for each quarterly reading selection; times for the two discussion sections are listed below. Discussion groups will not be recorded to encourage open and honest discussion among attendees.

If you're interested in attending additional roundtables or trainings through ARSL at discounted member rates, consider joining ARSL!


Fall 2022 Book Club

Join us for an in-person ARSL Professional Development Book Club discussion at the 2022 ARSL Conference! Once a quarter we invite both members and nonmembers to come together to discuss a professional development book of particular interest to the needs of library professionals working in small, rural libraries. We are excited to hold the fall 2022 meeting at the ARSL Conference. We will discuss Library Leadership Your Way, by Jason Martin. (978-0-8389-1905-7). It's a succinct 88 pages with content that is interactive, relevant, and conducive to discussion. Like many library book discussions, all are welcome, including those who have not finished every one of the 88 pages!

Conference attendees can get a $10 discount on Library Leadership Your Way by using the code BCAC22 (expires 10/31/22). 

Register for the Conference
Buy the Book

 


Previous PD Book Club Events

Winter 2022: Sustainable Thinking: Ensuring Your Library's Future in an Uncertain World by Rebekkah Smith Aldrich

March 29, 2022
Discussion 1: 3:30 pm PT / 4:30 pm MT / 5:30 pm CT / 6:30 pm ET
Discussion 2: 6:30 pm PT / 7:30 pm MT / 8:30 pm CT / 9:30 pm ET

Everyone, regardless of ARSL membership status, is invited to join us on March 29th, 2022 for our inaugural professional development book club: an interactive discussion of Rebekkah Smith Aldrich’s landmark book Sustainable Thinking: Ensuring Your Library’s Future in an Uncertain World.

Sustainability may seem like a “pie-in-the-sky” idea, suitable only for larger libraries with bigger budgets to contemplate. However, much of sustainable thinking and action already takes place within the walls and communities of small libraries. As Smith Aldrich states, “How fortuitous for us all that what the world needs most right now is what libraries are already very good at.” How can we leverage our skills and our knowledge to create and support thriving and resilient communities? 

Smith Aldrich’s book is available for purchase in the ALA Store. The book is also available on Overdrive.