### Association for Rural & Small Libraries

# Regional Board Member

## Description

A Regional Board Member is a voting member of the board, elected by majority vote of the membership

- Reports to President of the board
- Term commitment is two calendar years
  - May be re-elected for one additional term
- Work in the represented region
- There are four Regional Board Member positions: Northeast, Midwest, South, and West\*
- Two of the Regional positions shall serve alternating terms to the other two Regional positions:
  two elected in odd years and two elected in even years
- ARSL member in good standing
- Commitment to ARSL Mission and Values
- Requires moderate time and support

## Responsibilities

#### Serve as an active member of the ARSL Board

- Attend ARSL meetings and events
  - Online board meeting every other month
  - o Annual conference
  - Annual in-person retreat
  - Attend additional meetings as requested
- Familiarize yourself with the issues before the board and prepare in advance for discussion and decision-making; follow up with the board on assigned tasks and timelines
- Promote ARSL membership and participation
  - Assist ARSL members in becoming active and engaged participants in the organization
  - Complete succession planning tasks as necessary for continuity across election terms
  - Serve as a committee liaison or as a member of a committee
- Work with Executive Director to update strategic plan, and/or annual workplans for the coming year for review by the board

#### Represent the interests of region

- Serve as a representative of your region's ARSL members
- Promote membership and engagement within your region
- Work with ARSL board and staff to encourage regional activities

\*Northeast includes Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New York, New Jersey, and Pennsylvania. *Midwest* includes Ohio, Michigan, Indiana, Wisconsin, Illinois, Minnesota, Iowa, Missouri, North Dakota, South Dakota, Nebraska, and Kansas. *South* includes Delaware, Maryland, Virginia, West Virginia, Kentucky, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Georgia, Florida, Alabama, Mississippi, Arkansas, Louisiana, Texas, and Oklahoma. *West* includes Montana, Idaho, Wyoming, Colorado, New Mexico, Arizona, Utah, Nevada, California, Oregon, Washington, Alaska, and Hawaii.